The 7 Chakras 101

The 7 Chakras 101

Updated on 26th May 2022 at 1:35 am
Most of us these days have heard of chakras. However, many people are still not sure exactly what chakras are and how they work. We’ve asked Miranda’s friend and Intuitive Healer, Onkar Ryan, to provide us with a basic understanding of the 7 chakras and how they can be easily understood. Chakra, (meaning wheel) are energy centers that are located in the body from the base of the spine to the top of the head. These energy centers correlate to our glands in the body. I have listed how we may feel if a chakra is balanced or imbalance. This is a great way to understand the chakras and how they apply in your life. 1st Chakra – Root Chakra (Muladhara) The energy of our root chakra is for security and survival. Its located at the end of spine between the anus and sex organs. A strong 1st chakra will have you feeling grounded, secure and stable.  When we have an imbalance at the root chakra we may feel fearful and insecure. The color connected with this chakra is red. 2nd Chakra – Sacral Chakra (Svadisthana) The 2nd Chakra is commanded by our creativity and patience.  The location of this chakra correlates to our sex and reproductive organs, kidneys and bladder. A strong 2nd chakra has us feeling positive and creative with relaxed feelings towards sexual functions. When this chakra is un-balanced, we feel rigid emotions, lack of creativity and irresponsible relationships. The color associated with this chakra is orange. 3rd Charka – Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura) Gives us action, balance and a strong will to see the things we believe in. The location of this chakra correlates to our naval point (liver, digestive organs, spleen adrenals, gall bladder and pancreas). A strong 3rd chakra exemplifies self-confidence in who we are, personal power and commitment.  Our shadow side of this chakra can leave us feeling angry, low self-esteem and in despair. The color associated with this chakra is yellow. 4th Chakra – Heart Chakra  (Anahata) This chakra is where our love & compassion stems from.  It is the transition point between the 1st three chakras and the upper chakras 4,5,6. It is where our neutrality lives. When we come from the fourth chakra we go from “me to we”. The location is in the center of the chest on the breast bone. Our 4th chakra correlates to the Heart, lungs and thymus gland.  When our 4th chakra is strong we are full of compassion; kindness, forgiveness, service and love. When we experience grief, attachment, dependence on love and affection from others, as well as, fear of rejection, these are                                                   signs of imbalance in this chakra. The color that represents this chakra is green. 5th Chakra – Throat Chakra (Vishuddha) The is our projective power of our word. Our 5th charka is related to the throat and corresponds with our thyroid and para-thyroid glands.  A strong throat chakra gives us the ability to communicate effectively and authenticity. When our throat chakra is weak, we may have a hard time speaking our truth or finding the right words to express ourselves.  We may feel shy and insecure. When we experience imbalances with the thyroid gland, neck and throat are also a sign that we could do some work with our throat chakra. The color for this chakra is light blue. 6th Chakra – Third Eye Chakra (Anja) The third eye point where our pituitary gland sits, is our 6th chakra. This center is where our intuition, wisdom and identity lies. This chakra sits right between our eyebrows.  When our 6th chakra is balanced we have a strong intuition of deep knowingness. It is where we can visualize and fantasize.  When this chakra is imbalanced, we experience confusion, depression and reject a sense of spirituality. We can over intellectualize things and think too much. The color for this chakra is Indigo blue. 7th Chakra – Crown Chakra  (Sahasrara) This is where our humility and vastness sit. Our 7th chakra illuminate’s transcendence. Our Crown chakra sits at the crown of the head. It corresponds with our brain and pineal gland. Some describe this chakra as the seat of the soul.  Having a strong crown chakra connects us to the highest and infinite self. It is our relationship to our enlightenment, unity with the “ONE”.  Universal creative consciousness. When there is an imbalance in our crown, we may experience feelings of grief, fear of death and the feelings of being separate from existence. The color for this chakra is Violet Being able to understand the chakra system can give you a deeper understanding of yourself and a new way to relate to your body, mind and soul. Onkar xxx


Onkar is a Kundalini yoga student, teacher, and meditative healer. She has been practicing Kundalini Yoga, as taught by Yogi Bhajan, since 2006 and began teaching in the summer of 2008. She has lived in Alabama, Colorado and now resides in Los Angeles, California. Onkar’s classes focus on the deep healing of the self through meditation, breath, yoga, mantra, and relaxation.


2 thoughts on “The 7 Chakras 101

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.